English County Championship Returns To Two-Division Format

English County Championship Returns To Two-Division Format

Warwickshire had received the County Championship in 2021.© Instagram

The English County Championship will go back to a two-division construction from subsequent season after two coronavirus-affected campaigns, the England and Wales Cricket Board introduced on Thursday. The Bob Willis Trophy was once offered in 2020 and a three-group construction used for this yr’s first class festival. Subsequent yr, 10 groups will play in department one and 8 groups in department two, with a two-up, two-down promotion-and-relegation gadget.

Each and every county might be positioned into the department they might had been set to compete in had the 2020 County Championship taken position.

Lancashire, Northamptonshire and Gloucestershire received promotion to Department One and Nottinghamshire had been relegated to Department Two.

The go back to 2 divisions, with every workforce enjoying 14 fits, was once voted thru through the first class counties.


Department One: Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, Warwickshire, Yorkshire

Department Two: Derbyshire, Durham, Glamorgan, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Nottinghamshire, Sussex, Worcestershire

Subjects discussed on this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *