IPL Captaincy Records: MS Dhoni Leads In Numbers, Rohit Sharma In Titles

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has noticed a mixture of the younger and the previous in the case of captaincy. A lot of veterans were given the duty of attempting to make use of their revel in to steer the remainder whilst some amateur kids have additionally been thrown within the deep finish — each giving blended outcomes. However amid the entire shuffling and chaos there was one consistent — Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma too were main their groups for a moderately some time now and at the side of Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir are the one gamers to have performed over 100 suits as captains.

MS Dhoni (Chennai Tremendous Kings):

Captain Cool has led Chennai Tremendous Kings and Emerging Pune Supergiants and whilst one has been a fairy-tale, the opposite no longer such a lot. Dhoni has performed 174 suits as captain — essentially the most within the historical past of IPL. He has 104 wins as captain, 69 losses and one no-result. The present CSK skipper boasts of 1 the most productive win percentages at 60.11, which is the absolute best for any individual who has led their crew in 30 or extra IPL suits.

Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore):

The present India and RCB skipper has been head and shoulders above the remainder in the case of efficiency with the bat in hand. On the other hand, he has no longer been in a position to switch that luck to captaincy. He has captained the Bangalore franchise in 110 suits and has led them to 49 wins whilst finishing up at the shedding aspect on 55 events. On the other hand, he hasn’t had the rub of the fairway cross his method as captain. He has been a part of two tied suits and had 4 no-results — greater than any individual else. Kohli has a win share of 47.16.

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians):

The darling of Mumbai, Rohit Sharma has turn out to be what Dhoni is to Chennai. Even though he may no longer most sensible Dhoni in win share (58.65), Rohit has led the Mumbai franchise to 4 identify triumphs — essentially the most via any individual in IPL historical past. He has performed 104 suits as captain, main his crew to 60 victories. He has had 42 losses as captain and been a part of two tied suits.

Dinesh Karthik (Kolkata Knight Riders):

The wicketkeeper-batsman has led two groups — Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) and the Kolkata Knight Riders. Whilst his time with the Delhi franchise may no longer were just right, he has inspired in KKR. In overall, Karthik has performed 36 suits as captain within the IPL, main his crew to 17 victories, shedding 18 occasions with one tied fit. His win share of 48.61 isn’t nice however no longer an entire crisis both.

David Warner (SunRisers Hyderabad):

The Australian megastar has had a hard few years with the ball-tampering controversy and all that however that turns out have had no ill-effect on his batting. He was once reinstated as captain via the SunRisers Hyderabad forward of IPL 2020, changing Kane Williamson. He led the aspect between 2015 and 2017, taking them to identify triumph in 2016. Warner has led the SRH in 45 suits general, with 26 wins. He additionally captained the Delhi Daredevils in two suits, taking his general tally in IPL to 47 with 26 wins and 21 losses, leaving him with a win share of 55.31.

Steve Smith (Rajasthan Royals):

Steve Smith has captained 3 groups — Pune Warriors, Rajasthan Royals, Emerging Pune Supergiant. Whilst Smith neglected the 2018 season like Warner, he began the 2019 season, taking part in below the management of Ajinkya Rahane. On the other hand, the Australian was once referred to as in to exchange Rahane halfway throughout the season after

Rajasthan gained simply two of the 8 suits. Total, within the IPL, Smith has performed 29 video games as captain, with 19 wins, 9 losses and a no end result. His win share of 67.85 is the absolute best within the league for any individual who has captained over 5 suits.

Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Capitals):

The fashionable right-hander took over as captain of the Delhi Daredevils halfway via to the 2018 season after Gautam Gambhir stepped down following a nightmare get started. He led the crew below the brand new guise of Delhi Capitals for everything of IPL 2019. He has performed 24 suits in overall as captain with 13 wins, 10 losses and one tied fit, making for a win share of 56.25.


KL Rahul (Kings XI Punjab):

Rahul will likely be main an IPL crew for the primary time this season. He has taken over the captaincy of the Punjab crew from Ravichandran Ashwin, who will likely be taking part in below Shreyas Iyer in Delhi Capitals in IPL 2020.

Subjects discussed on this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *