Joe Burrow wins 2019 Heisman Trophy as LSU heads into College Football Playoff

The 2019 Heisman Trophy used to be awarded to Louisiana State College (LSU) quarterback Joe Burrow on Saturday after he led the crew to an undefeated 13-Zero season and berth within the School Soccer Playoff.

He denied the Oklahoma Sooners the chance to boast 3 Heisman Trophy winners in a row after quarterbacks Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray gained the award in 2017 and 2018, respectively.

Burrow is LSU’s 2d Heisman winner and primary since operating again Billy Cannon in 1959. Burrow left Ohio State and joined LSU as a graduate switch in 2018.

He had already set a Southeastern Convention (SEC) document with 48 touchdowns and is on tempo to set an NCAA document for finishing touch share at 77.nine p.c.


The Heisman Trophy is given to essentially the most remarkable participant from each and every season and has been a long-held custom in school soccer since 1935. The Heisman Trophy used to be first awarded to operating again Jay Berwanger from the College of Chicago.

It used to be at the beginning referred to as the DAC Trophy right through its first season however used to be renamed after New York Downtown Athletic Membership’s athletic director, John Heisman, following his demise in 1936.

After a flash of lightning just about blinded Heisman, he earned his regulation stage within the spring of 1892 and won his first training task at Oberlin School in a while thereafter. He went on to train at Auburn, Clemson, Washington & Jefferson, Rice, College of Pennsylvania and Georgia Tech, the place he completed a 33-game win streak.


LSU is slated to stand the quantity 4 ranked Sooners within the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on Dec. 28 within the School Soccer Playoff semi-final.

The winner will cross directly to play the winner of the Ps Fiesta Bowl between quantity two ranked Ohio State and quantity two ranked Clemson — additionally on Dec. 28.

The championship recreation will happen on Jan.13 in New Orleans on the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *