Lasith Malinga To Lead Sri Lanka T20I Squad Against Australia

Sri Lanka on Thursday known as many in their skilled gamers again into the 16-men squad led by means of Lasith Malinga after the facet’s Three-Zero sequence victory in Pakistan. After a tender squad completed a whitewash of Pakistan within the T20I sequence performed as a part of the go back of world cricket to the rustic, Sri Lanka grew to become to many in their extra seasoned campaigners for his or her three-match sequence in Australia. One of the easiest performances from the excursion of Pakistan had been rewarded alternatively, with Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Oshada Fernando keeping their spots after each made their debuts in Pakistan, an ICC observation stated.

Rajapaksa earned headlines with a shocking 48-ball 77 which flattened Pakistan in the second one T20I to safe a chain victory. Fernando, on debut, then lit up the overall tournament of the sequence with an unbeaten 78, additionally from 48 balls.

The squad additionally marks the go back to captaincy for Malinga. The veteran had opted out of the Pakistan excursion, and Dasun Shanaka captained the facet in his stead.

Different senior gamers who’re returning to the squad after opting out of the ultimate excursion are Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera and Kusal Mendis.

Most effective two gamers are lacking from the squad that hosted New Zealand a bit over a month in the past — Akila Dananjaya and Lahiru Madashanka.

Dananjaya used to be suspended after showing towards New Zealand pending remedial paintings on his bowling motion, whilst Madashanka failed to provoke throughout his look within the Pakistan sequence.

Sri Lanka will trip to Australia this weekend forward of the three-match sequence starting on October 27 in Adelaide.

Squad: Lasith Malinga (capt), Kusal Perera (wk), Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *